Together Again

January 4, 2010

You had something I couldn’t afford. We hadn’t seen each other in weeks, but we had spoken, I had shamefully called you via your new roommates’ cell phone. To tell you how much you had hurt me.

Now you had something and a reason to come over. It had been long enough. That smile. In spite of everything we had to smile at the sight of each other.

Afterward my hands started to undress you. Stop, you said. There is something I have to tell you.

You had been seeing men casually for sex. Had done so long before you left me.

Would again.

I stopped. That dead feeling. That panic. And then, looking at you. God, I still love you. Unbutton and unzip you and give it to you, again.

Leave a Reply

